History of Como United Methodist Church

Who We Are

The history of Methodism in Como has its beginnings some three miles southeast of town in the year 1841. The first church was a log building used for both school and church. A circuit rider provided preaching services every two weeks.

In 1847 Friendship Church was built on the southeast corner of Section 3 across the road from the cemetery. In 1869 it was moved in sections to Como and built on the corner of the present site. In 1881 a new wood frame church was built and stood until the present brick building was build in 1912.

The present parsonage was build on the lot adjoining the church in 1951. An annex containing a fellowship hall and Sunday school rooms was build in 1960, completing what stands as the present church building.

On May 27, 2012, Como United Methodist Church will celebrate the 100th year of worshiping in the present sanctuary.